Pittsburgh Symphony European Tour

The Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Manfred Honeck depart for a 14-concert European Tour across four countries on May 17 and will be joined by soloists Daniil Trifonov, Martin Grubinger, Anne-Sophie Mutter and Leonidas Kavakos!

The tour program features Tchaikovsky's Symphonies No. 4, 5 and 6; Beethoven's Coriolan Overture; Dvořák's Carnival Overture; Haydn's Symphony No. 93; Hartl's Percussion Concerto (with Grubinger); Liszt's Piano Concerto No. 1 and Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No. 2 (with Trifonov); Berg's Violin Concerto (with Kavakos); Dvořák's Violin Concerto (with Mutter); and Strauss's Elektra Symphonic Rhapsody — arranged by Manfred Honeck and Tomás Ille.

The concert at the Berlin Philharmonie on May 22 will be simulcast via satellite on the big screen at Heinz Hall at 2 p.m. EST. The program features Beethoven’s Coriolan Overture, Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, “Pathétique”. The concert will also be livestreamed on the Pittsburgh Symphony’s website. The Pittsburgh Symphony would like to thank and recognize Echo International and the German American Chamber of Commerce, Pittsburgh chapter, for their sponsorship of the Berlin live stream at Heinz Hall.

Tour Dates Include:

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6, Op. 74

Dvořák: Rusalka Fantasy (arr. Honeck/Ille)

Reference Recordings
Native DSD
Arkiv Music

Labels: , , ,