New Upcoming RR Release - Brasileiro Soul

We are pleased to announce our latest CD release, Reinaldo Brahn's Brasileiro Soul featuring Jim Brock, percussion

Brasileiro Soul
Reinaldo Brahn
Brasileiro Soul

featuring Jim Brock

Release date: October 11, 2011

Also available as HR-124: HRx® DVD Data Disc containing .wav files. True high resolution music,176.4 kHz/24 bits.

Reference Recordings is proud to announce Brasileiro Soul, a Brazilian jazz/pop album from versatile singer/songwriter/guitarist Reinaldo Brahn. Talented young Brazilian singer-songwriter-guitarist, Reinaldo Brahn, plays rich and complex music, with a killer band and exotic percussion by famed Jim Brock!

Brasileiro Soul is a collection of fourteen original songs penned by Brazilian guitarist and singer Reinaldo Brahn. The deep heritage of his guitar style, along with his rich unmistakable voice, makes Brasileiro Soul as provocative as the land that cultivated it. Veteran percussionist and producer Jim Brock refers to Reinaldo Brahn as "the new voice of Brasil."

Young guitarist Reinaldo Brahn grew up listening to the jazzy samba music of his native Brazil, and in Brasilero Soul he weaves that heritage with new Brazilian pop styles. He left the renowned Brazilian vocal group Soul Makube to embark on a solo career. Gathering influences from Gilberto Gil, Djavan and Caetano Veloso, Reinaldo began touring his original music throughout Brazil, and then in 2006 brought his music to the United States.

Recorded at venerable Reflection Sound Studios in Charlote, NC, and engineered by Grammy-winning "Prof" Keith O. Johnson.


  1. Alma de atriz (Soul of an Actress)
  2. A Procura da Razão (Search for a Reason)
  3. Paisagem Ancorada (Anchored Landscape)
  4. Põe o pé na estrada (Sincere Love)
  5. Onde Está (Where is It?)
  6. As lagrimas Consolam (Tears Console)
  7. Anjo de Julho (Angel of July)
  8. So Nos Dois (Two of Us)
  9. Toda Mulher (Every Woman)
  10. Tarde (Dusk)
  11. Out of the Blue
  12. Wondering
  13. No Colla da Serra (In the Lap of the Mountain)
  14. Tempo (Time)

Reinaldo Brahn, vocals & acoustic guitar; Jim Brock, percussion
Tim Gordon, winds; Steve Kim, electric bass; Al Sergel, drums
Mark Stallings, keyboards; Dustin Hofsess, electric guitar Jon Thornton, trumpet/flugelhorn

Labels: , , ,