New Release - Mike Garson and "The Bowie Variations"

The Bowie Variations

“Whatever Mike lends his hands to invariably becomes something magical.”–David Bowie.

Beginning in 1972, super-versatile pianist Mike Garson performed, toured internationally and recorded with one of the most creative figures in popular music, David Bowie.

Garson writes, “When I met David, I sensed that he was an immense artist and a songwriter with a flair for great melodies and unique harmonies. The Ziggy Stardust tour changed the course of my life in many ways and began a working relationship and a special friendship that has spanned four decades.”

Having played the Bowie songbook in concert countless times, Garson always had the ambition to record his own original variations on these well-known themes. This is the year it came to fruition!

Thanks to the advanced digital technology of the Yamaha Disklavier piano, Garson was able to create several exciting sonic overlays, without abandoning RR’s audiophile approach to recording. “It’s like having six hands!” he exclaimed.

Recorded in the fine natural acoustics of the Oxnard, California, Center for the Performing Arts (venue of several previous RR successes), this program has realistic spatial characteristics not possible with standard studio techniques. Grammy® award winning engineer Keith Johnson has created another touchstone piano recording.

Track Listing:
  1. Space Oddity
  2. John, I’m Only Dancing
  3. Life On Mars
  4. Heroes
  5. Ashes To Ashes
  6. Variations on “Changes”
  7. Let's Dance
  8. Battle For Britain/Loneliest Guy/Disco King
  9. Tribute to David
  10. Wild is the Wind
  11. Bonus Track: Space Oddity–take 2

Purchase RR-123HDCD - Mike Garson - The Bowie Variations Securely from Reference Recordings!

Labels: , , , , , ,